APC to file petition at Osun governorship election tribunal –

Gboyega Oyetola and Ademola Adeleke

The All Progressives Congress (APC) says it plans to challenge the results of the July 16 Osun governorship election at the election petition tribunal.

Gboyega Famodun, the state APC Chairman said this at a news conference on Thursday at the party secretariat, in Osogbo.

Mr Famodun said that the decision followed assurances by the party lawyers who said that there were good grounds to challenge the results after they had studied them.

More on Naija News:  SDP Candidate: I’ll take 1,285 s3x workers off the streets of Abuja

“We are going to the tribunal. Our lawyers had informed us that we have good reasons to challenge the results of the election at the tribunal,” he said.

He decried the suspected anti-party activities of an APC faction in the state “The Osun Progressive (TOP).”

More on Naija News:  Youth will become Nigeria’s president after me – Tinubu

The chairman said that the faction, which was under the control of the Minister of Interior and former governor Rauf Aregbesola, worked for the opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party  (PDP), to deny the APC victory at the election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on July 17, declared Senator Ademola Adeleke of the PDP as the winner of the Osun governorship election with 403,371 votes.

More on Naija News:  [ANALYSIS] How Internal rift may thwart Two Ex-Governors' chances of leading APC

Governor Gboyega Oyetola of APC placed second with 375,027 votes.


Source: People Gazette

Olajire Taofeek
I've been a freelance web developer and blogger for a while now, and I have passion for both. Like most men, I'm a football lover, infact I prefer playing to watching matches. Personally, I believe with dedication there's no limit to what we can achieve. Yes, we all have the power and ability to do that. You can contact me via [email protected] for your web design and development gigs.

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Politics